Chettedathu and Harris de Lee named Tucker Scholars in Science and Mathematics

Lee University students Achsah Chettedathu and Blake Harris have been named the 2022-23 Tucker Fellowship recipients in Natural Sciences and Mathematics, respectively.

The Tucker Foundation Science and Mathematics Scholarship was established in 2009 through a generous endowment grant from the neighboring Tucker Foundation. The scholarship is awarded annually to one science major and one math major who are outstanding students from East Tennessee.

The scholarship was introduced as part of an institutional initiative to enhance the natural sciences and mathematics at Lee University. The endowed scholarship was established by the Tucker Foundation in the name of Mr. and Mrs. Summerfield K. Johnston, Jr.

Ms. Chettedathu is a Health Science, Paramedic, Pre-Professional major. She is from Ooltewah and graduated from Ooltewah High School. At Lee, Ms. Chettedathu was part of the iMass Scholars program. She also took a medical mission trip to Guatemala via Lee this summer.

After graduating, she plans to go to school to become a medical assistant, eventually specializing in women’s health, dermatology or pediatrics.

“I loved coming to Lee since first grade and sometimes worried how I could afford it, but God always provides a way,” Ms Chettedathu said. “I am beyond grateful to the Tucker Foundation for their generosity and support during my final year at Lee. It was a wonderful surprise, and words cannot express how happy I am to be able to graduate in May and attend PA school.

Mr. Harris has a major in math with minors in computer science and film. He’s from Kingsport, Tennessee. and graduated from Dobyns Bennett High School. At Lee, he was a hard-working student and a teacher’s assistant in the math department. He also plans to tutor students in general math classes at the university’s math tutoring lab.

After graduating from Lee, he hopes to continue his education through a graduate program in mathematics. Currently, he is studying programs in Applied Mathematics and Data Science. He has been able to participate in research projects and is looking for the opportunity to do so again at the graduate level.

“I am extremely grateful to have been chosen as a Tucker Fellow,” Mr. Harris said. “This scholarship will help me a lot as I am nearing the end of my college career at Lee. I have loved my time here studying math and am excited to continue my studies in a degree program Although I still have a long way to go, I’m glad Lee gave me a good start!

The Tucker Foundation also endows two School of Nursing scholars, Destiny Patterson and Zoe Riggins. They are both returning Tucker Scholars who were awarded the four-year renewable nursing scholarship last year.

For more information about the Tucker Foundation Natural Science and Mathematics Scholarship, contact the Department of Natural Sciences at 614-8275.

Comments are closed.